Untamed by A. G. Howard


A post-Ensnared collection of three stories—available in both print and e-versions.

Alyssa Gardner went down the rabbit hole and took control of her destiny. She survived the battle for Wonderland and the battle for her heart. In this collection of three novellas, join Alyssa and her family as they look back at their memories of Wonderland. 

In Six Impossible Things, Alyssa recalls the most precious moments of her life after Ensnared, and the role magic plays in preserving the happiness of those she loves. Alyssa’s mother reminisces about her own time in Wonderland and rescuing the man who would become her husband in The Boy in the Web. And Morpheus delves into Jeb’s memories of the events of Splintered in The Moth in the Mirror, available in print for the first time.

This collection expands upon Ensnared‘s epilogue, and includes some deleted scenes to provide a “director’s cut” glimpse into the past and futures of our favorite Splintered characters.


I absolutely loved Howard’s wonderful Splintered series and was excited to see that a companion novel was released. This book consists of three novellas, all of them expanding on the Splintered story. 

The first novella is titled The Boy in the Web and basically, tells the story of Alyssa’s parents. It switches between the past and the present and is a very sweet and well-done story. 

The second novella is titled The Moth in the Mirror which tells plethora of key events from the series from Jeb’s POV.  It was helpful for me reading this, as it leads me to understand and sympathize with Jeb a bit more. This novella did a wonderful job of filling in the gaps of the story for events that happened when Alyssa wasn’t there.

The third novella was my favorite and was titled Six Impossible Things. This novella shows the end of Alyssa’s human life and her transition to her immortal life with Morpheus. This was an incredibly emotional story; as we see Alyssa struggling with all the human aspects of life she has to leave behind (grandchildren and her kids) and watch her work to commit to her immortal life. Some of the scenes between Morpheus and Alyssa are very sweet and I really enjoyed where things ended with this story.

All of the stories are incredibly engaging and well written. I loved having the chance to visit the Splintered world again and this book provides both some excellent closure and fills out the world even more. This is one of those series that I really miss.

Overall a fantastic expansion of the Splintered series. Not only are these incredibly well written but they also do a great job of expanding the story and answering some unanswered questions. I love these characters, the crazy world, and how you never know what you will find on the next page. I would recommend to fans of the Splintered series. I would also highly recommend the whole Splintered series to both fans of Alice in Wonderland and fans of quirky and creative urban fantasy.

If you would like to purchase this book you can do so by using the link below to purchase it from The Book Depository! 


Pages: 288

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5/5!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s